TRIBUTE TO SLAVERY

TRIBUTE TO SLAVERY

Like biblical Joseph
I was betrayed by my own.

They are not to be blamed
they simply lack knowledge.

They wished death upon me
but The Lord delivered me like
Daniel in the lion’s den.

Death seeked me but I defied it.
With sands of time, at the hands of
my master, I suffered but conquered
oppression like Muhammed and the
people of Mecca.

In turmoil I toil; but the lord blessed
me with a seed. It germinated and
blossomed in the harsh sovereign of
foreign soil, beyond expectation;

fulfilling the promised blessings of Abraham.

My first heir was born; Soul, and the
second; Jazz. They crowned my effort
giving birth to Rhythm and Blues.

My seeds spread like pollination all
over the world, as far as the wind blows..

All glory be to God, the Merciful,
who has given us this day to remember,
and so we must cherish to remember
the ancient struggles.

© Dotun Gb | Poems

Leave a Reply

