Guardians

Success through
oppression. The
great King of Egypt
perfected it with
the Israelites.

Two faced similitude
coined by African
parents through their
lacklustre words.

Words sharper than
the tip of an arrow,
piercing through my
skin reaching
for my heart.

Misguided and misinformed
they guide to perfection
words of suppression,
suffocating my hopes
and dreams.

But unknown to the
young bewildered heart,
they oppress not, but
only for my cause, for
the day I rise to become
the Phoenix.

© Dotun Gb | Poems

Leave a Reply

